The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education Confers Awards During First-Ever Virtual Graduation Ceremony

The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education celebrated the accomplishments of the 2020 graduating class of residents and fellows on Friday, June 19. During its first-ever virtual commencement, select graduates, faculty members and community partners were recognized for their outstanding commitment to and success within the program. The ceremony, including award presentations, can be viewed at A full list of awardees appears below.

Wright Center for Community Health Board Member Jody Cordaro, CEO of SCE Environmental Group Inc., was honored with the prestigious Bost Award. Named in honor of the late Dr. Charles Bost, an original founder of The Wright Center’s residency programs, the award is given to a community leader who most demonstrates inspiration, guidance and support for The Wright Center’s mission.

“We can never thank Jody enough for lending us his incredible expertise during the COVID-19 pandemic. Jody went above and beyond his board and personal responsibilities to ensure our staff, executives, residents, all employees, patients and families remained safe,” explained presenter Dr. Linda Thomas-Hemak, Wright Center President/CEO.

Other awards included:
Teacher of the Year (Cardiology Fellowship) – Samir B. Pancholy, M.D.; Teacher of the Year (Internal Medicine Residency) – Bojana Milekic, M.D.; Teacher of the Year (Family Medicine Residency/Lackawanna County) – William Dempsey, M.D.; Teacher of the Year (Family Medicine Residency/Luzerne County) – Maureen M. Litchman, M.D.; Faculty of the Year (National Family Medicine Residency) – Lori Landes, M.D.; Bost Award – Jody Cordaro.

The Robert E. Wright Award (for Internal Medicine) –  Zaid Tahir Iqbal, M.D.; the Moses Taylor Hospital Golden Stethoscope (for Internal Medicine) – Tapan Buch, M.D.; Outstanding Fellow (Cardiology) – Saurabh Patel, M.D.; Intern of the Year (Internal Medicine Residency) – Jacob Miller, M.D.; Intern of the Year (National Family Medicine Residency) – Larry Wong, D.O.; Intern of the Year (Regional Lackawanna Family Medicine) – Solomon Saul, D.O.; Intern of Year (Regional Luzerne Family Medicine) – Jasleen Waraich, M.D.

Chief Fellow (Cardiology) – Saurabh Patel, M.D.; Chief Resident (Regional Luzerne Family Medicine) – Mandeep Singh, M.D.; Chief Residents (Regional Lackawanna Family Medicine) – Allyson Matthys, D.O., and Vikaash Persad, D.O.; Chief Residents (Internal Medicine) – Kelly O’Leary, M.D., Tapan Buch, M.D., Muhammad Pir, M.D., and Najam Saqib, M.D.; Chief Residents (National Family Medicine) – Jacob Sup, D.O., Katherine Chen, D.O., Aline Sengchannavong, D.O., Vincent Carbone, D.O., and Natasha Khawaja, D.O.

The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Award – Mandeep Singh, M.D. (Regional Lackawanna Family Medicine); Outstanding Resident Award (National Family Medicine) – Lokesh Goyal, D.O.; COPC Project Award (National Family Medicine Residency) – Vincent Carbone, D.O., and Chukwuka Ojiako, D.O.

The virtual commencement recognized the accomplishments of 60 graduating student learners. Eight of those will stay in Northeast Pennsylvania to continue practicing medicine. The doctors hail from 14 countries and studied in The Wright Center’s internal medicine, regional family medicine and national family medicine residencies as well as its cardiology fellowship program.

We are a proud member of